Home Scholarly articles Aneni awarded the YCCI Junior Faculty Scholar Award

Aneni awarded the YCCI Junior Faculty Scholar Award


Ehimen Aneni, MD, MPH, received a two-year KL-2 grant from the Yale Center for Clinical Investigation (YCCI). The Junior Faculty Scholars program provides young scientists with resources to gain expertise in translational research.

Aneni, who joins the faculty after completing a three-year training program in cardiovascular medicine at Yale, is studying the pathogenesis of cardiovascular disorders in sleep breathing disorders. With support from the YCCI, Aneni will study the relationship between obstructive sleep apnea and coronary microvascular dysfunction (CMD), which results from damage to the walls and inner lining of small blood vessels in the heart.

His project titled “Myocardial Blood Flow and Myocardial Flow Reserve in Adults with Obstructive Sleep Apnea” will focus on optimal cardiovascular care for people with obstructive sleep apnea (OSA), a sleep disorder that is believed to be a major impact on heart function. Her mentors include Henry (Klar) Yaggi MD, MPH, Associate Professor and Yale Program Director in Sleep Medicine, Stephanie Thorn, MSc, PhD and Albert Sinusas, MD, of the Yale Translational Research Imaging Center (YTRIC), and Edward Miller MD , PhD, who is the Director of the Nuclear Cardiology and Cardiology Fellowship Program.

“Little is known about the association between traditional or new markers of OSA severity and CMD,” Aneni explained in the proposal. In addition to improving our understanding of the development of heart disease in people with OSA, the study will also assess the cardiovascular benefits of treating sleep apnea in a modest number of participants and serve as a basis for future studies. . “Our study will provide pilot data for the design of future intervention studies targeting OSA in patients with CMD.”

Cardiovascular Medicine Section alumni are Kamil Faridi, MD, MSc, Tariq Ahmad, MD, MPH, Jeffrey Testani, MD, MTR, Daniel Jane-Wit, MD, PhD, Daniel Greif, MD, Yibing Qyang, PhD, and Jeptha Curtis, MD.